To Get Your Article to list on Premium Place Mail us at along with your contact details.
Please share if you find Information is valuable

What are the different formats of cricket available these days?

Over the years, cricket has found huge popularity among the people of all country. From international to domestic, to meet the demand of the popularity of cricket, the various cricket organizers of different countries have come up with different formats. If you look back at the history of cricket, you will find that there were only two formats which were the test cricket and first class. But, to make it shorter and more energetic, ODI was organized.



But later, on, may other formats have emerged in the markets which are typically the short format match that consists of around 20 overs. A single over consists of 6 legal ball deliveries. So, in a 20 over the match, 120 balls are delivered in each innings. So, if you are looking forward to learning the different formats of cricket, then you have arrived at the right place. Here we will help you to learn about the different format of cricket in the easiest way. So, keep on reading if you want to learn more about the different formats of cricket.




It is the oldest format of cricket which can be termed as the birth of cricket. It is also one for the highest standard of cricket and is often considered as the benchmark of class cricket. A test match can sometimes be timeless and sometimes be six days games which have rest days between the games. But as times have changed and people have a busy schedule, it has been chopped down to a five-day game. There are almost 90 overs played averagely every day in a test match. There are two innings for each side where they can play as long as they want to. But the primary rule of test cricket which remain unchanged is that the team need to stop as soon as the sky gets dark.


First class


The fits class cricket formats are referred when there is an ODI or test taking place in a typical test playing country. The prime examples of the first class playing countries are England’s County Championship as well as Australia's Sheffield Shield.




ODI at first used to be a 60 overs game per side. But later on, it has been reduced to 50 overs for each side. An ODI can take place at any point in time, be it day or night, and it doesn't matter.


Twenty 20


It is the latest format of the game where each side will play 20 overs. It is the short and crisp format.




It is a domestic version of the 20 over game format. You can now even do ipl betting online. So, now that you know the different versions of cricket make sure that you don't stay behind the next time when there is an argument over cricket. 

There are no comments on this post

Write a New Comment on What are the different formats of cricket available these days?

Please Log In or Register to post comments.

Disclaimer : Please note "" is a Article listing Website. Any content found here comes from a 3rd party hosting sites such as Google, YouTube, Vimeo,, & other sites provided by users etc... dose not self host any of Videos and Articles. Please contact appropriate Articles individual Authors and Video hosting sites for any content removal.